AN EXCEPTIONAL KNOW HOW

From crystal… to “pâte de cristal”

Pâte de cristal technique is rare and ancient. This technique dates back to 5000 B.C. (pieces have been found in pharaohs’ tombs). Forgotten, Daum rediscovered it in 1900, then further developed in 1968. The process is extremely delicate to master. The pieces produced by the melting of fragments of crystal within a mould have a texture, substance and a softness of contours that can not be obtained with blown glass.

Pâte de cristal is a Daum speciality, sometimes copied but never equalled ; a precious material that gives pieces a sculptural dimension and which has been refined unceasingly. Pâte de cristal has the quality of giving translucency to the forms it reproduces. The brilliance of this material, the intensity of coulours and the myriad subtile shades all contribute to its singularity.

 

Pâte de cristal is in fact a paste made of crystal with a 30% lead content. Pâte de cristal originates from specially produced batches of crystal melted in crucibles. Several factors have a bearing on the final coulour : the granule size of the crystal fragments, the proportions in the batch, the chemical reaction between some materials and metals, the rate of increase and decrease in temperature within kilns.

The process of melting glass coupled with the lost wax technique that Daum has developed, ensures a perfect reproduction of the original piece just as the artist had imagined it. Today, Daum is the only crystal maker in the world able to produce this exceptional material so perfectly. Pâte de cristal is a mutable substance, which has translated every whim of the imagination of the glassmakers for over a century. Thanks to mastery and constant research, world renowned masterpieces are born

  • Molding of the model

Starting from sketches, the sculptor creates an initial model in clay. The volume, details and expressions are worked to perfection. Once the sculpture is finished, it is used to generate a negative mold in elastomer.

  • Wax pouring

The hot wax is poured into the hollow mold, emptied of the original sculpture.

  • Reproduction in wax

Once the wax sets, the wax sculpture is removed from its mold.

  • A perfect reproduction

The wax sculpture can be hiseled and worked to obtain a perfect reproduction, identical to the original.

The wax model is then immersed and encased in heat-resistant plaster. The block of plaster containing the wax model is placed in an oven. Under the action of the heat, the wax melts and runs out of the plaster block through specially-created drain holes. The wax is said to be « lost ».

  • Filling molds with groisil (coarsely crushed crystal)

Once all the wax run out of the plaster block, the hollow part of the mold thus created is carefully filled with fragments of crystal of different colors and different sizes (called groisil).

  • Finishing process

Once cooled, the plaster mold is carefully broken, to reveal the sculpture in pâte-de-cristal.

There remain a number of finishing operations to be carried out before proceeding with the quality control inspections to ensure the quality of the materials and the distribution of the colors.

  • Finishing and Signature

After the finishing operations, control inspections are made to ensure the quality of the materials and the distribution of colors. The piece is then ready to receive the final touch: the Daum signature. The entire process is carried out for each new piece. Each piece is unique.

  • Final Piece

You can admire the exceptional color blend and the sculpture details finely hand-crafted. This unique know-how gives birth to exceptional pieces.

  • Artistic Collaboration

From the Ecole de Nancy, from l’Art Nouveau to Arts Décoratifs, from Majorelle to DaliArman and Hilton McConnico, Daum has not missed any of the magic rendez-vous of the artistic creation and modern savoir-faire, which has always rende the alliance of art ans art craft. Few brands have worked with as many artists: within more than 130 years, more than 350 exceptional signatures have constituted a heritage beyond compare, a unique collection.

UN SAVOIR-FAIRE D’EXCEPTION

Du cristal à la pâte de cristal

La technique de la pâte de cristal est rare et très ancienne. Cette technique remonte à 5 000 ans avant J.C. (on en retrouve dans les tombes de pharaons). Longtemps oubliée, elle fut redécouverte par Daum en 1900 puis retravaillée en 1968. Le procédé est extrêmement délicat à manier. Les pièces obtenues par cette fusion de morceaux de cristal mélangés dans un moule possèdent un grain, une matière et une douceur de contours que l’on ne peut obtenir avec le verre soufflé.

Spécificité chez Daum, copiée mais jamais égalée, la pâte de cristal, matériau précieux qui donne à l’objet une dimension sculpturale, n’a cessé de se développer.

La pâte de cristal a cette particularité d’ajouter la translucidité aux formes qu’elle reproduit. La brillance de cette matière, les intensités de couleurs et ses tonalités ombrées lui confèrent toute sa singularité.

La pâte de cristal contient près de 30% de plomb. La matière naît à partir d’un cristal spécialement fabriqué dans des pots. Plusieurs facteurs influent sur le résultat final de la couleur: la pesée des matériaux, les proportions des mélanges, les réactions chimiques de certains minéraux et métaux, la montée de la température ainsi que le refroidissement des fours.

Grâce au procédé de fonderie de cristal et moulage à la cire perdue mis au point par Daum, la reproduction de la pièce originale est parfaite et conforme aux désirs de l’artiste. Aujourd’hui Daum est le seul cristallier dans le monde à pouvoir créer aussi parfaitement cette matière d’exception. Substance changeante, la pâte de cristal se plie à tous les caprices de l’imagination des maîtres-verriers depuis plus d’un siècle. C’est grâce à une maîtrise et une recherche constante que naissent des chefs-d’œuvre mondialement connus.

  • Moulage du modèle

À partir d’esquisse, le sculpteur va modeler dans de l’argile le premier modèle. Le volume, les détails, les expressions vont être travaillés jusqu’à la perfection. Une fois la sculpture terminée, on réalise sur celle-ci un moule négatif en élastomère.

  • Coulage de la cire

Dans ce moule creux vidé de la sculpture originale, on coule de la cire chaude.

  • Reproduction en cire

Ensuite, la cire refroidit et se fige, le modèle est dégagé de son moule en élastomère.

  • Une parfaite reproduction

Le modèle en cire peut ensuite être ciselé et retravaillé à la main afin d’obtenir une reproduction parfaite, identique à l’originale. Technique de la cire perdue : le modèle en cire va ensuite être noyé dans du plâtre réfractaire. Sous l’action de la chaleur, la cire va fondre et s’écouler du plâtre par une évacuation aménagée au préalable.

  • Remplissage du moule avec des morceaux de cristal

Une fois la cire évacuée, la partie creuse du moule en plâtre est soigneusement remplie avec des morceaux de cristal de différentes couleurs et de différentes tailles. Ces morceaux de cristal sont aussi appelés « le groisil ».

  • Démoulage et finition de la sculpture

Une fois refroidi, le moule en plâtre est délicatement cassé, révélant alors la sculpture en pâte de cristal. Il reste encore à procéder aux opérations de finition avant de contrôler la qualité de la matière et la répartition des couleurs.

  • Finition et Signature

Après les opérations de finition, le contrôle de la qualité et des répartitions de couleurs a lieu. La pièce est ensuite prête à recevoir la touche finale : la signature Daum. Le processus doit être recommencé pour chaque pièce. Chaque ?uvre est unique.

  • Pièce finale

Vous pouvez admirer le mélange de couleurs exceptionnel ainsi que les détails de sculptures finement travaillés. Grâce à ce savoir faire unique, la pièce finale Daum est remarquable.